ACC’s New Slate of Officers and Trustees Installed

The ACC’s Board of Trustees (BOT) recently named its new slate of officers and trustees following ACC.18 in Orlando, FL. Included in the installation of new College leaders, ACC’s new president, C. Michael Valentine, MD, FACC, and vice president, Richard J. Kovacs, MD, FACC. Andrew P. Miller, MD, FACC, will serve as Board of Governors chair and ACC secretary, while Howard “Bo” Walpole, MD, MBA, FACC, assumes the role of treasurer. Daniel José Piñeiro, MD, FACC and Edward T.A. Fry, MD, FACC were also appointed to three year terms on the BOT, and Akshay Khandelwal, MD, FACC was appointed to a two year term. Other changes of note, Hadley Wilson, MD, FACC, was appointed to chair the College’s Membership Committee. Additionally, 20 individuals were approved to take leadership positions on ACC committees across the College. These installments come as part of the ACC’s governance transformation, which culminates this year, and included a gradual reduction of the College’s BOT from its original 31 members in 2015, to 13 in 2018. Congratulations to ACC’s new leaders! Learn more about the importance of leadership at the ACC in this video and read ACC BOT biographies here.